Julep Jewel Heist Mystery Box

Recently, Julep offered a new round of mystery boxes – The Jewel Heist Mystery Box.

Screenshot 2014-09-16 16.59.40

Typically I don’t purchase mystery boxes. I just don’t love the idea of spending money and not knowing what I’m getting. But I caved on this one. Anyone who purchased one of the boxes was eligible to win all twelve birthstone colors – including the three remaining ones that no one has seen. Plus, one grand prize winner will receive a pair of sapphire & diamond earrings. It was just too good of a deal to pass up.

Here is what I received in my box.

JewelHeistMysteryBox_Julep_2

Ink Gel eyeliner – ($22/$17.60 Maven) – A creamy jet-black eyeliner. I’m an eyeliner pencil kind of gal, so this gel pot isn’t really my thing. It has good value, I just won’t use it. I’ll probably swap it or pass it along to a friend.

Alma – ($14/$11.20 Maven) – Dijon mustard yellow crème. I think that mustard yellow is one of those shades that you either love or hate, there’s no in between. I fall in the love it camp. However, this is a dupe for me. I bought it a few weeks ago.

Lengthening Mascara – Espresso Brown – ($24/$5.99 Maven Sale) – Lash growth enhancement ingredients and micro-fiber applicator separates, lengthens, and conditions individual lashes to lock in moisture and protect from breakage. I don’t wear brown mascara, so this will be gifted as well.

Mask Noir – ($32/$25.60 Maven) – An antioxidant-rich peel-off black mask that leaves skin smoother, brighter, and deeply hydrated. I love facial masks, and this looks like a good one. I love that I received this in the mystery box.

Double Duty Makeup Brush – ($28/$22.40 Maven) – 2-in-1 tool contains two stackable brushes—a large tapered brush for streak-free foundation application and a flat concealer brush that offers precision coverage and control. Julep makes great brushes, and I love that this is two brushes in one. Again, this is another win for me.

Green Tea Facial Blotting Papers – ($10) Not sold separately – This isn’t something I would have purchased for myself, but they will definitely get used.

Overall, I was actually quite happy with this mystery box. I also really loved that it was heavy on the beauty and makeup products. I totally get that Julep is primarily a nail polish company, but they make great beauty products and I’m happy to try them out. Even though I’ll only use/keep half of the products, the value is still well worth what I spent on it.  I estimate the value of this box at $130/$92.79 Maven.

 

Leave a Reply

