September Julep Maven Review

Disclaimer, this post contains referral links. 

IMG_4576

Julep Maven is a nail polish and beauty box. Every month you have a choice between several curated style profiles or you can customize your box. If you’d like to customize your box, I suggest signing up for a 3 month prepaid subscription! Julep Maven is one of my favorite subscription boxes for a few reasons. Every month they create and release a new line of polish, all built around a theme. I think it’s a great idea. Also, I’m a big fan of the fact that their polish formulas are vegan, and 5-free.

For September, they introduced The Art Walk Collection.

Screenshot 2014-09-03 21.00.52

photo credit to Julep

Initially, I had mixed feelings about this collection, but the more I looked at it the more I liked it. This is definitely a transition month into fall, so I expected less bright, and more muted colors. Is it just me, or does this collection also kind of scream an 80’s vibe? I was born in the 80’s though, so I can definitely get behind this. I have also really been interested in the satin finishes, and there were at least three of those featured this month.

Julep Maven subscription details:

The Cost: $24.99 a month ($19.99 a month with a 3-month subscription). Both options are customizable for new Mavens. I totally recommend the 3-month subscription. That’s what I have, and I love being able to pick exactly what I want, and getting the lowest price.

The Products: Nail polish and beauty items.

Ships to: US and Canada

Here’s the first look inside my September Julep Maven Box.

JulepMaven_Sep2014_1

Here are the colors that I selected this month.

Photo Aug 20, 2 28 07 PM

Photo credit to Julep, Layover text is mine.


And, here is the first look at my September Maven Box.

JulepMaven_Sep2014_2

Here is the breakdown of what I received in this month’s box:

JulepMaven_Sep2014_4

Erin– (Value $14) – From Julep: Oyster grey crème.

  • I love grey polishes, and really didn’t have any in my collection. This is a really nice creme finish, and I’m excited to have it.

Quinn – (Value $14) – From Julep: Charcoal purple satin

  • As mentioned before, I’m really interested in different finishes right now, so this purple satin was right up my alley.

JulepMaven_Sep2014_5

Ryan – (Value $14) – From Julep: Overcast teal satin

  • I’m not as in love with this as I thought I would be, but I also think it’s a color that will grow on me the more I use it.

Ana – (Value $14) – From Julep: White jagged glitter top coat

  • Ana was part of this collection, but was only available as an add-on. I am in love with this top coat. It’s a little edgy, and I love that it’s white.

JulepMaven_Sep2014_9

Julep also released a new line of lip products this month called Plush Pout Lip Crayons. I feel like lip crayons have become a trend lately, and I was excited to see if Julep’s version was any better than the alternatives on the market.  These are supposed to be full-coverage lip crayons with a moisturizing core, and long-lasting with a semi-gloss finish.

I ordered the Magenta Plum color, but actually received the Almond Nude shade.  I was a little disappointed, but it wasn’t that big of a deal because they’re shipping me the correct color, and I get to keep this one. Typically, this type of nude shade wouldn’t work with my skin tone, so I haven’t tried it yet. I’m still debating whether or not I want to keep this one or trade/gift it to someone who would enjoy it more. I’m super excited to try out the Magenta Plum color once I actually receive it!

I chose the following as ad-ons:

JulepMaven_Sep2014_6

Chloe – (Value $14 – added on for $4.99) – Warm cocoa frost

Lola – (Value $14 – added on for $4.99) – From Julep: Moonlit night blue satin

  • Lola is a beautiful midnight blue! I can see this being a favorite for fall.

Because I purchased three add-ons (including Ana), I received a beauty freebie. They sent:

JulepMaven_Sep2014_7

Daria – (Value $14) – From Julep: Dark slate grey crème

Candace – (Value $14) – From Julep: Golden chocolate microglitter

So that was my box this month!

If you’re new to Julep Maven, don’t forget to use code FREEBOX to receive your welcome box for free (you just pay for shipping or get free shipping when you sign up for a 3 month subscription).

This month was the last of my pre-paid three-month subscription. I’m still debating whether or not I will continue my subscription or not. I probably will, but just haven’t decided for sure yet.

Are you guys subscribed to Julep Maven? Do you love it? What did you think of your September Julep Maven Box?

Leave a Reply

