August 2014 Birchbox Review

2014-06-11 18_Fotor

Birchbox is one of my favorite subscription boxes. I’ve found some really great products that I use every day, that I otherwise wouldn’t have ever tried without sampling them first.

Birchbox is only $10 a month and they send you 5-8 (usually sample size) products to try out. If you end up loving the sample, you can purchase the full size version in their shop. They also have a crazy good points system so you can rack up credit for significant discounts. It’s an auto renewing subscription which you pay monthly for, or pay for a full year at once (for a discount). You can also cancel any time.

Here’s the first look at my August 2014 Birchbox. I received five products this month.

August 2014_Birchbox_firstlook
Screenshot 2014-08-11 09.14.58

August’s theme was “Lighten Up.” It was all about not taking yourself too seriously, keeping your cool, and as they put it on their info card “laughing your way into fall”.

August2014_Birchbox_productcard

August2014_Birchbox_product2

Laura Geller Beauty Cool Lids Cream Eyeshadow -(value $12.35) –  Birchbox allowed subscribers to pick an item this month, and this is what I picked. It’s really easy to apply, lasts a long time, and stays put. It’s just not my favorite color.

Harvey Prince Ageless Body Cream -($0.90) –  This product lives up to its name. It’s very moisturizing, and a little goes a very long way. It also smells amazing! It is kind of funny to me that I have received so many Harvey Prince products lately. I think this is the third Birchbox in a row where they have sent me something from this brand. I don’t really mind though, because I actually like most of what I’ve received.

August2014_Birchbox_product3

nugg Beauty Revitalizing Face Mask – (value $2.99) – This brand has a variety of different facial masks, all in individual use pods. I received the Revitalizing face mask, and honestly it is the one I was the least interested in. The info card says that it should hydrate, and replenish dull, tired skin. However, after I used it my skin actually felt more dry then before. I also wasn’t a fan of the scent. It smelled too much like Vicks Vapor Rub, which I like…when I’m sick, but it’s not exactly something I enjoy on my face. I did appreciate the size of the pods (and if you have a way of sealing them up, or a spare empty container, you could easily get two uses out of each pod), and the texture and consistency of the product was nice. I’ll likely try a few of their other varieties, but won’t be purchasing this one.

August2014_Birchbox_product1

Neil George Shampoo & Conditioner –  (each valued at $4.50) – I haven’t tried this yet. Though it is getting rave reviews, so I’m excited to. But on the other hand, I’ve received so many shampoo/conditioner samples from Birchbox lately, I can’t say I was thrilled to get another one. They’re always good to have on backup for travel though, so there’s that…

I estimate the value of this box at $25.24. Overall, I had mixed feelings about my August Birchbox. I wasn’t wowed by anything I received, but I’ll probably end up using all of it. So in that sense I guess it was a successful box, and definitely worth the $10 I paid for it.

Leave a Reply

