August Julep Maven Review

IMG_4576

Julep Maven is a nail polish and beauty box. Every month you have a choice between several curated style profiles or you can customize your box. If you’d like to customize your box, I suggest signing up for a 3 month prepaid subscription! Julep Maven is one of my favorite subscription boxes for a few reasons. Every month they create and release a new line of polish, all built around a theme. I think it’s a great idea. Also, I’m a big fan of the fact that their polish formulas are vegan, and 5-free.

For August, they introduced The Wanderlust Collection.

The Wanderlust Collection

(photo credit to Julep.com)

Firs off, I should mention that I am a sucker for any and all things jewel toned. I think that those super saturated colors really compliment any skin tone, but especially a medium one (like mine), and I just love them. I knew at first glance that I was going to have a hard time narrowing down my selections this month. I was also happy to see that there were no creme polishes in this month’s options!  Typically, creme is my go-to, and because of that my collection is kind of overloaded with creme finishes. Not to mention, that last months box was heavy on the cream selections, so it was nice to see different finishes highlighted this month.

Julep Maven subscription details:

The Cost: $24.99 a month ($19.99 a month with a 3-month subscription). Both options are customizable for new Mavens. I totally recommend the 3-month subscription. That’s what I have, and I love being able to pick exactly what I want, and getting the lowest price.

The Products: Nail polish and beauty items.

Ships to: US and Canada

Here’s the first look inside my August Julep Maven Box. First of all, isn’t the tissue paper just gorgeous? I’m totally going to save it, lol.

August2014_JulepMaven_FirstLook

This month my selections were all over the place, and really didn’t fall into one particular box type. I think each of my three selections came from different box types. There’s a little Boho Glam in there, a little Bombshell, and some Classic with a Twist too! Does this give you an idea that I really appreciate being able to customize my box? Otherwise, I’d be spending a ton more money and ending up with polishes I wasn’t in love with.

Here are the colors that I selected this month.

My Selections

(photo credit to Julep.com, layover text is mine)

And, here is the first look at my August Maven Box.

August2014_JulepMaven_box

There were a few problems with my shipment this month. I didn’t receive one of the add-ons I purchased (Sienna), and I didn’t receive the bonus product for purchasing three addons, and they ended up sending an eyeliner that I didn’t order. But, at the end of the day, it’s not that big of a deal, plus they are sending me the items I didn’t receive (and I get to keep the eyeliner!). I think the mixups ended up being a happy accident, actually. I ended up really loving the eyeliner, which I probably wouldn’t have normally purchased.

Here is the rest of what I received in this month’s box:

August2014_JulepMaven_1

India– (Value $14) – From Julep: Freshwater blue shimmer.

  • This blue is so stunning! I haven’t seen another blue polish out there quite like it. I had to have it, and since I’ve heard that it sold out very quickly, I’m super excited that I got it.

Tazeen – (Value $14) – From Julep: Full-coverage Bollywood gold glitter

  • Tazeen is a really pretty gold glitter. I thought that this would be one of my favorites from this month, but actually I’m a little less thrilled by it. It’s pretty for sure, but I’m not crazy about the formula. It seems to be really gloopy (is that a word?), but I haven’t used it yet. I’ll reserve final impressions until I actually give it a try.

Avni – (Value $14) –  From Julep: African violet shimmer

  • I’ve been really in to purple polish colors this summer. I didn’t have a deep purple in my collection, and am really happy with how saturated this purple is. I really like it.

August2014_JulepMaven_eyeglider

So, they sent one of their new Gel Eye Gliders by accident, and then let me keep it when I called to notify them. So I got to try it out, even though I really wasn’t interested in new eyeliners (I already have so many that I like). I’m so glad I did though! I really like this pencil, and the color I got – Plum – is a really nice color. It’s super easy to use, with a smooth application.

I chose the following as ad-ons:

August2014_JulepMaven_2

Sushmita – (Value $14 – added on for $6.99) – From Julep: Pashmina pink silk

  • This was also from the August Wanderlust Collection, and I thought the rich pink color in a silk finish was too pretty to pass up.

Sienna – (Value $14 – added on for $4.99) – From Julep: Sophisticated, shimmery gold

  • This had been on my wish list for a while, so I was happy to see it listed as an add-on. It’s not pictured though because it wasn’t actually included in my shipment, but they’re sending it separately.

Cameron – (Value $14 – added on for $4.99) – From Julep: Silver lilac stardust (matte glitter)

  • Honestly, I only added this so that I could max out my 3 add-ons and qualify for the free surprise gift. However, I thought that the idea of a matte glitter was interesting enough to try out.

If you’re new to Julep Maven, don’t forget to use code FREEBOX to receive your welcome box for free (you just pay for shipping or get free shipping when you sign up for a 3 month subscription).

Next month (September) will be the last of my pre-paid 3-box subscription. I hope it’s a great month, as I’ll have to decide wether to renew for another three months after that. So, the pressure is on, Julep! Lol. I do have a feeling that next month we’ll start to see a transition to more fall-like colors (or at least, here’s hoping), so I am excited for that. Also, that’s a good thing…I don’t know how many more bright summery colors my collection can handle.

And as a side note, I know that Julep transitioned to a new shipping facility and have experienced some shipping and inventory problems this month. I know my box was incorrect (they forgot to include two items, and sent one that I didn’t actually order), though they did rectify the situation. I think that compared to the problems other Maven subscribers have had with their August Maven shipments I have relatively little to complain about. But I do sincerely hope that before the September boxes are shipped that they work out all of the kinks they experienced this month (and there appear to be many to work out).

Are you guys subscribed to Julep Maven? Do you love it? What did you think of your August Julep Maven Box?

Leave a Reply

